Destiny’s DLC Rise of Iron Is Coming

Calling all Destiny fans! It’s almost here. The update is out. The pre-order is bought. Are you ready for the latest expansion of Destiny, Rise of Iron?

Rise of Iron:

If you have not heard, Rise of Iron is the latest/newest release by mega game developer Bungie for their flagship online video game Destiny. The Rise of Iron is scheduled to be released on 09/20/2016. It is the 4th DLC release of Destiny 1 and will only be available on next-generation gaming consoles.

The Rise of Iron will mainly take place around the planet Earth and encompass the enemy race called the Fallen. The Rise of Iron focuses on the Fallen overtaking The Last City. Lord Saladin, the Iron Lord, will help Guardians find the path to becoming the next generation of Iron Lords. Rise of Iron will wrap in much needed new Destiny content. The new Rise of Iron main game content will include new missions, new strikes/campaigns, new in-game social area, new Crucible maps, a new Crucible mode called Supremacy, and a new (much needed) Fallen Raid called Wrath of the Machine. Of course, the Rise of Iron will also include new gear and weapons. The much-awaited weapon of all is the new Gjallarhorn:

A sneak peek at the new Gjallarhorn:

A sneak peek at the new Crucible mode called Supremacy:

How Destiny Rise of Iron Will Play Out:

The Fallen have overtaken the Last City and have broken through the wall. Rise of Iron will bring all of Destiny’s fans a new area to explore. Much like the House of Wolves, the Rise of Iron has its own “House.” The new Fallen house is called the Devil Splicers.  The Fallen are trying to master the lost technology of Siva. Siva is a technology that humans created during the Golden Age when humans were traversing the universe for the first time.

New Iron Gjallarhorn Rocket Launcher

Destiny Rise of Iron DLC Gjallarhorn Review Gamer Ninja 1200x628px

Destiny Rise of Iron DLC Gjallarhorn Review Gamer Ninja

The Rise of Iron will be set on planet Earth and be called the Plaguelands. Plaguelands will be separate from the current world on planet Earth called the Cosmodrome. Although different, the Plaguelands will be morphed with Cosmodrome, and you will be able to see what destruction the Fallen have done to the wall around the Last City.  There will be a new in-game social space called the Felwinter’s Peak. There is also going to be a new strike called The Wretched Eye.

Rise of Iron Guardian Artifacts:

The Rise of Iron will be a Destiny update that will feature eight new artifacts. Guardians will collect the eight artifacts by completing quests form a new vendor name, Tyra Karn. She will offer three artifacts per week, but Guardians can only choose one object to push forward with for that week.

The math concludes that it will take eight weeks to collect all the artifacts with one of your characters. The artifacts will enhance your character’s abilities immensely and provide a game-changing experience. Here is a rundown of what the artifacts entail:

Memory of Jolder: Removes the sprint cooldown penalty, i.e. you can sprint again more quickly after finishing a sprint. Good for anyone who likes things up close and personal. Also useful for objective-based Crucible matches.

Memory of Silimar: Specifically in the Crucible, resistance to damage over time attacks is greatly increased. Good for Guardians who frequently find themselves poisoned or on fire.

Memory of Skorri: When your super is full, nearby allies’ supers recharge faster. Sometimes you have to wait a while for the right time to use your super. Now that’s not necessarily wasted time.

Memory of Gheleon: Grants you detailed radar and persistent radar when aiming down the sights of any primary weapon. Currently, radar only stays active when aiming down the sights of specific weapons. The usefulness of being able to pair persistent radar with any auto rifle, scout rifle, pulse rifle, or hand cannon is pronounced.

Memory of Perun: Enemies with full supers, and enemies with low health are highlighted. Clearly meant for Crucible players. Kill the enemies that are closest to death or the most dangerous. Your team will thank you.

Memory of Felwinter: Give up your super ability, but gain an extra melee and grenade charge and a small boost to all stats. Orbs grant melee and grenade energy. This was one of the most interesting powers granted by the new Rise of Iron artifacts. Supers are one of the most important abilities granted to a Guardian—a quick way to change the balance during a tough fight. What does it feel like to play for an extended period of time without your super?

Memory of Timur: Melee attacks on minor minions of the Darkness have a chance to turn them against their allies. The other, interesting power. Reminds us of hacking Spectre robots in Titanfall. Having a small squad of minor enemies fighting for you in Destiny could be a funny and good time.

Memory of Radegast: Gain the ability to reflect energy-based projectiles when guarding with a sword, and increased sword ammo capacity. As you saw in the Strike footage, the Devil Splicers are using energy-based weapons, so this artifact is probably designed specifically to interact with the new story-based content in Rise of Iron.

The Rise of Iron is genuinely going to be a much needed, long-awaited, and much-welcomed addition to the mega first-person shooter known ad Destiny.

Videos of Rise of Iron:

Quotes from Bungie on the Rise of Iron:


The wall which stood for centuries along the southern border of Old Russia has collapsed, a battle-scorched reminder that our enemies still seek to destroy us all. Fallen mutants now scavenge the tombs of the Golden Age, and the plague they have unearthed in the wastes is more dangerous than even they understand. Join Lord Saladin. Journey into the Plaguelands. Learn the fate of the Iron Lords and stop the growing threat before it is too late.


The wall that stood for centuries along the Cosmodrome’s southern border has collapsed. Fallen mutants now scavenge the tombs of the Golden Age, and the technology they have unearthed in the wastes is more dangerous than even they understand. Join Lord Saladin. Journey into the Plaguelands. Learn the fate of the Iron Lords and stop the growing threat before it is too late.


Every Fallen House has Splicers – body hackers and bioengineers who fuse metal and flesh – but the Splicers of the House of Devils have uncovered the ultimate technology: SIVA, a Golden Age breakthrough in self-assembling, self-replicating nanotechnology. The Fallen have always worshiped machine gods. Now, armed with SIVA, the Devil Splicers are becoming machine gods themselves. Confront the Fallen Devil Splicers in the Plaguelands, find the source of the SIVA, and contain the outbreak at any cost.


To overcome the challenges that await in The Plaguelands, Guardians will have access to an all-new arsenal of weapons, armor, and gear, including Iron Lord themed armor sets, new exotic weapons, and all new Raid, Iron Banner, and Trials of Osiris gear.


Hidden in the Cosmodrome lies the true source of the SIVA outbreak, guarded by the most zealous and powerful Fallen Devil Splicers. Six Guardians will plumb the depths to stop the threat at its source. Should they emerge victorious, they will return to the surface wielding powerful new weapons and armor forged from SIVA itself.

Rise of Iron Release date is September 20th, 2016

Destiny Rise of Iron DLC Date Reveal 1200x628px

Destiny Rise of Iron DLC Date Reveal

Stay tuned to for all the latest Destiny and Rise of Iron DLC details.

Gamer Ninja Staff